ADVERTISEMENT

NonDawg The breed of peace strikes again

So I'm a veterinarian, and I hear ALL the freaking time about how "it's the owner, not the dog..." blah blah blah. I've seen on MULTIPLE occasions otherwise well adjusted pitbulls completely snap and bite the shit out of kids. One of my clients children had to have their kid rushed to ATL and have reconstructive facial surgery because their sweet little pittie didn't like the clothing they were wearing or something.

If you have kids, or wish to not get your ass sued, don't own a pitbull. Nobody gets killed by Golden Retrievers for a reason.

"But but but fur baby loves mommy." Ok.

End effing rant.
You sound just like my grandfather 30-40 years ago when we were kids and he was alive and had his clinic.

Have a kid or three, just get a lab or a retriever.

I am not a veterinarian, but I am a lifetime dog-enthusiast with a fair bit on knowledge on what specific dog breeds and types are designed to do. Pitbulls have jaws that are very powerful and are designed to clamp down and not release. That is one of the main reasons they do so much damage. They have also been bred to be more aggressive. They are kind of the saw-scaled viper of the dog world. This snake kills more people globally than all other snake species combined. They have a very potent venom for a small snake, and they are highly aggressive. It is a bad combination.
I was trying to decide between getting my 5yo niece a bunny or a saw-scaled viper for Easter, thanks for this information!

Agree with the poster who said its about instinct. Pitbulls are bred to fight period. Ask any hunter, who goes after wild hogs, what kind of "catch dog" they have. I promise you it's a pit.

Your pit may be great....today. But its nature is to kill, and it's just a matter of time before it does.

Reactions: deadduckdawg