ADVERTISEMENT

Opinion 3-2-1 Report, Recruiting Edition

JedMay

Pillar of the DawgVent
Staff
May 24, 2021
Welcome to the 3-2-1 report, recruiting edition. As the resident new guy, I have been granted the honor (crippling pressure) of putting together a column for y’all’s enjoyment. I’m new to this since I’m half Radi’s age, but luckily I’ve got twice the wit and charm to make up for it.

It’s been a big summer for Georgia recruiting. Kirby Smart and company have been chasing ‘croots like me chasing a prom date in high school. Unlike my time at Madison County (go Red Raiders), the girls, uh, prospects are listening to what the Bulldogs have to say. There have been additions and subtractions, positive and negative trends, and everything in between.

So, let’s get to it.

Three Observations:

Follow the swag:
It’s a ritual as the calendar creeps closer to football season. Georgia fans flock to downtown Athens stores to stock up on the latest Bulldog fashion before the season starts. You’ve got to look official as you yell, “Run the damn ball!”

Fashion can also provide some interesting recruiting clues.

On a visit to Athens last weekend, one of Georgia’s top uncommitted targets left in the class, 2022 safety Kamari Wilson and his family, stopped by a Georgia fan shop downtown and bought five hundred dollars of Bulldog gear.

That’s a little bit of a different story than recruits buying a $15 hat for their commitment ceremony, leaving the tags on, and then returning it when they commit elsewhere (unless you’re Quay Walker, who’s Tennessee hat should be passing by Saturn by now). To me, that looks like a family that’s getting prepared to spend Saturdays in Sanford Stadium for the next three to four years.