ADVERTISEMENT

Back after a long absence: my UGA football season predictions

UGADawgGuy

a.k.a. 00 Dawg
Gold Member
Sep 6, 2001
Johns Creek, Georgia
Ladies and gentlemen of the Dawgvent --

First, I must warn you that this is going to be an epically long post. It's also comprised purely of my personal speculation regarding the upcoming football season, and that speculation is based on nothing more than what I've read in preseason magazines, seen on websites (including this one), and heard on sports talk radio. I am no more an expert than anyone else here -- less so than some -- and I don't claim to be. But I did spend years writing for a living (sort of), I'm now a professional researcher, I enjoy this stuff, and I know of no better forum in which to present it. So...yeah, there you have it.

I used to do a post like this before every season, but it's been at least five years since I've gotten around to it, thanks mostly to having young kids. For several years before I began posting these preseason manifestos here, I put together spreadsheets of data on Georgia and all its opponents before every football season. In these spreadsheets, I try to identify each team's strengths and weaknesses (at least the ones that stand out on paper before the season), examine each of their schedules (paying attention to bye week placement, tough stretches, and year-to-year trends), and come up with a guess as to how every team on our schedule will do in each of their games. Think of it as sort of an abbreviated, Georgia-centric preseason magazine, but without a publisher. :)

I fully recognize that this is overkill at best, and a complete waste of time at worst. And I'm okay with that, because I love college football, including all the fruitless analysis and guesswork that can come with it. Anyway, without further ado, here's what I've come up with going into the 2016 college football season:

North Carolina
10-2 (6-2 ACC)
Bowl prediction: Orange
Strengths: RB, OL, WR, CB, S