Jeff Dantzler

DawgHammarskjold

Circle of Honor
Gold Member
Feb 5, 2003

Huckaby: No one does sports broadcasting quite like Jeff Dantzler​

Darrell Huckaby
Columnist

Georgia broadcaster Jeff Dantzler at a women's basketball game and the SEC Network's Tom Hart at the league's men's basketball tournament. (Photos by John Kelley/UGA and ESPN PR).

Basketball is in my blood. I was raised in Newton County, which was a hotbed for the high school version of the sport in the 1950s and 60s, when the legendary Ronald Bradley was setting records on the hardcourt. His teams won 129 straight home games over one nine-year stretch. That’s a record that has stood for more than half-a-century.
Basketball paid my way to a better life. I came to UGA on a basketball scholarship. I was a manager. The SEC hasn’t changed that much in 50 years. I coached basketball, on the high school level, through four decades.

For years I was an Andy Landers super-fan and followed the Lady Dogs all over the country. I still have bad dreams about the 1985 NCAA Championship game when we lost to Old Dominion. For the past decade I have been a season-ticket holder for UGA men’s basketball. I sit down close, near midcourt, right across the aisle from Sweater Man. It has been a character-building experience. It takes a lot of patience to be a devoted fan of men’s basketball at UGA and I still watch the women play when I can.
You get the picture. I see a lot of basketball and, as often is the case, I told you all of that to tell you this. There is something I have found I enjoy as much as going to the games and that is listening to the Georgia Lady Dogs on the radio. Jeff Dantzler is absolutely amazing.

This is not to take anything away from Scott Howard and Chuck Dowdell who call the men’s games. I hurry to the car after every contest in The Steg and listen to their recaps as I drive home. I turn down the volume on the TV and listen to their call when Georgia is on the road. They are a great team.